The Types of Multiple Sclerosis 2021

Although multiple sclerosis, otherwise known as MS, is often referred to as a single illness, it can actually include a variety of different symptoms and conditions. This is because the condition can vary to a significant degree depending on the person, but fortunately even though this is the case the majority can expect 95% of the normal life expectancy.

It has been found that individuals may have relatively few attacks after their diagnosis, experience long intervals between any MS-related attacks or even completely recover from attacks or attacks that have minor physical symptoms, such as numbness and tingling. To give you a better idea of how multiple sclerosis affects different people, in this article we take a look at the various courses of MS.

The Courses of Multiple Sclerosis that have Better outcomes

Multiple SclerosisPin

Some people with MS, although experiencing the symptoms to some extent, still have much better outcomes in the long run than some others. It is also true that once a form of the condition develops, it can change over time, meaning that patients experiencing MS must always be highly aware of their symptoms.

Overall, though, multiple sclerosis is represented as one of three clinical courses, with each of these having the potential to be mild, moderate or severe. The most common form of MS is relapsing remitting multiple sclerosis, with approximately 70 to 75% of people who are diagnosed with MS first experiencing a relapsing-remitting course. This course is characterised by partial or complete recovery after MS-related attacks.

These are also commonly referred to as exacerbations, relapses, or flares. This course has the potential to develop, with secondary progressive multiple sclerosis usually developing over time in most patients. Studies have shown that 50% of people with relapsing remitting multiple sclerosis will develop secondary progressive multiple sclerosis within 10 years, with 90% developing it within 25 years. This course is much like relapsing remitting, but becomes steadily more progressive in nature with attacks and partial recoveries continuing to occur.

More Serious Forms of Multiple Sclerosis

Unlike relapsing remitting multiple sclerosis, primary progressive multiple sclerosis is progressive from the beginning. In this course, symptoms usually do not remit, which makes it a much more difficult form to live with. Generally, 15% of people with multiple sclerosis are diagnosed with primary progressive multiple sclerosis, but it is impossible to make the diagnosis immediately as the individual with the condition will have to be living with consistent attacks for some time for a relapsing curse can be ruled out.

The last course that people with multiple sclerosis can experience is clinically isolated syndrome, which refers to an initial episode of inflammatory demyelination in the central nervous system that has the potential to develop into multiple sclerosis MS if further activity occurs.

Understanding the Different Forms of Multiple Sclerosis

Having some insight into what these respective conditions involve is important in having a much firmer grasp on what people with multiple sclerosis experience. This allows for a much better approach to health care and can help address stigma to a degree in people who otherwise are completely unfamiliar with the various forms of multiple sclerosis.

By keeping these in mind in the future, you’ll be able to do your part as well.

Leave a Comment